RPGNet eShop
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
RPGnet eShop Visit the Book Shop
RPGnet columnsRPGnet ForumsRPGnet Gaming IndexRPGnet Reviews



Home » DIY RPG Productions » Reviews
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Hubris: A World of Visceral Adventure
by Bartek E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2018 15:42:44

This book is amazing! I love the sword & sorcery setting, and even if you don't run Dungeon Crawl Classics (I prefer to use Savage Worlds) this book is full of useful tools to make your game world come alive.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hubris: A World of Visceral Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Gathox Vertical Slum
by Jeffrey G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2017 16:58:06

GATHOX: VERTICAL SLUM is an amazing sourcebook from writer/author D.L. Johnson that can easily work in any fantasy RPG rule set, but I think it vibes best with games with a decidedly old-school bent like Swords & Wizardry, Labyrinth Lord, DCC RPG, Lamentation of the Flame Princess, or Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea. But I could easily see it working in Savage Worlds, 5e, Dungeon World, Numenera, or GURPS.

Basically what you have here is a massive NYC-sized walking god with a towering city built on its back. And since the walking city blips from dimension to dimension, you can easily add it to any setting you have in mind or use it as a way of getting your characters from one setting to another.

It excels at being weird. But it doesn't feel weird for weird's sake. Instead of "Here's an undead mushroom space-pirate" we get "Here's a skydiving cult of women that wear high-tech wingsuits that kick ass with massive two-handed swords". Instead of "Here's X'thygua, the God of Space Fungus" we get "Here's The Grand Stultified Energon, the God Which Pulses, Quivers, and Collects".

Even if you don't want to use GATHOX as a setting, it is overflowing with inspirational material that you can steal from and use in your games.

And did I mention that the art is absolutely stunning?

Seriously y'all. Check this out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gathox Vertical Slum
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Death is the New Pink
by Eric K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2017 14:02:41

Based on the Into the Odd rules system, Death is the New Pink is a rules-light RPG that focuses on playing the game and creating the atmosphere rather than complex mechanics and convoluted background fluff. I'm always looking for a game that is good for getting a one-shot to the table that is immediately fun for the players - Death is the New Pink fulfills that desire with fully flavored character creation in minutes and rules that are grokked by everyone just as quickly. The book sites a number of pop culture post-apocalypse influences, but I think the most apt reference is Tank Girl. It paints a wasteland background, but throws out the oppressive/depressing feel and instead opts for a campy fun environment of violent abandon. The artwork and the tone is excellent throughout the book as well. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Death is the New Pink
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Death is the New Pink
by Tore N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2017 08:06:31

A fun and colorful post-apocalyptic game, based on the elegant Into The Odd rules. Character generation is fast and throws you a few curveballs, getting you ready to play within minutes.

I hope to have a printed version some day, as the art really deserves it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hubris: A World of Visceral Adventure
by Daniel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2017 11:12:25

You can find a rather lengthy summation and review of this product here:

http://dcctreasures.blogspot.ca/2017/05/hubris-world-of-visceral-adventure.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hubris: A World of Visceral Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Creator Reply:
http://dcctreasures.blogspot.ca/2017/05/hubris-world-of-visceral-adventure.html The link doesn't work:(. Tried copying it again! Thanks for the great review!
The Starrunner Kit- The Black Hole Edition: A Sci-Fi Space Toolkit
by Matthew O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2017 11:17:56

Great Sci-Fi toolkit for the Black Hack! The Black hack has a couple sci-fi relate resoruces, but I find myself reading this one a lot. Distinctive classes, great resources for ship/adventure building, and frankly can beused with other OSR resources. Highyl reccomended! Also, the print product is larger then a lot of the Black hack resoruces in pritn, and I like how it sits on my shelf!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Starrunner Kit- The Black Hole Edition: A Sci-Fi Space Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Hubris: A World of Visceral Adventure
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2017 08:30:41

I suck at writing reviews. I keep trying to start and other than saying "This book is amazing" I struggle to put the words together to express my opinions. Usually because I don't think I'm critical enough of a product. There's no way, for example, that a book can be this good...no offense intended to Mike Evans, but nothing is perfect, there are always areas to improve...especially when you're talking about a monster tome the size of Hubris, and also a company's first product release? Come on. I'm sure there was tons that could have been done better with Santa is Dead, but I have the luxury of that product not getting scrutinized year round and being viewed through the lens of a christmas farce (although it's truly anything but, thanks to the amazing talents of Evey Lockhart and team).

But there is nothing bad I can say about Hubris, other than maybe I want more out of it, but I've no time to play it. That's not Mike's fault though, that's my own...so even that isn't a problem with the product in any way, shape, or form.

This is a hefty book that you need to physically have at the table. Not because you need to flip back and forth and reference it constantly, but because you'll want to. You'll want to turn to a random page and pull out a detail and use it. You'll want to throw your players into the middle of this world and set them loose upon a place that yearns to destroy them...no, to change them, to warp them until they are as twisted and infected by the cruelty that permeates this massive landscape.

There are terrible things here, wonderful in their awfulness, and this place begs to be explored in its entirety. Which may be an impossible task; but you'll find yourself coming back to it again and again, as I have, looking for inspiration.

I just wish I had something critical to say. Maybe when I've finally run it, and finished it, and can say "There wasn't enough in this book", but I honestly doubt that will happen.

Which is a shame, because if the bar is set this high by Mike Evans, what hope do I have of putting out something better?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hubris: A World of Visceral Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much, sir! I'm really honored by your review and greatly appreciate it!:)
Hubris: A World of Visceral Adventure
by Derek H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/28/2017 12:51:35

In addition to all the previous reviews there is one high point for Hubris- it may have the best section on gods found within all Dungeon Crawl Classics supplements. Other sources provide plenty of wizard patrons and few have paid any attention to clerics and their gods. Hubris not only provides some new examples of the divine, it adds a new spell-like mechanic for calling directly upon them for a miracle. Another high point is the few pages devoted to wizard spell books and how they reflect their master and their master's patron, if any.

This setting skeleton is just about perfect for a DIY Judge who wants ideas and generators rather than concrete examples. It isn't a six star product, but it does deserve a five.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hubris: A World of Visceral Adventure
by Angela W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2017 18:04:16

Highly imaginative setting and rules. Wish i could get it in hardback or paperback.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hey Angela! Thanks for the review! The POD version will be soon. I'm waiting for the last proof (hardcover) to arrive to make sure it's all good! Thanks much for your support! It is much appreciated.
Hey Angela. I just wanted to give a nod that POD for Hubris is now available:)
Hubris: A World of Visceral Adventure
by nicolas b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2017 18:50:26

I have tore through this book in about 9 hours. Couldn't drop it. THere is SO much more than just a setting here - a highly customizable, idea-dispensing setting that if I had not traveled to a different reality with my players in this campaign, I would be using.

Really, awesome classes - I mean WHO WOULDN'T WANT TO PLAY A MURDER MACHINE - optional rules that make sense and can help give your adventures a much more Visceral feeling as it promises, new patrons and spells (including the funniest table title "What the Hell Did I Just Summon?"), a pantheon that teems with adventure hooks just by looking at the little descriptions given for each one and their servants, and a really cool mechanic for the Cleric.

But man, from Chapter 6 onward, it blows your mind. Those chapters sprung from the author's mind, the way I see it, with a singular purpose: make you a better Judge/GM/whatever you wanna call yourself. It helped me see all the awesome weirdness I can get into my games, while giving me the tools to do so; tables to get you out of a tight spot if you are a strict prepper; diseases with which to inflict your players, a freakin' table for GRAVE DIGGIN', NPC Generators, Plane Generators: Make-Your-Own-Game-So-Much-Better Generators.

Awesome art, nice layout, inspiring content.

Just buy it, truly. Doesn't matter the system you're playing. If you like playing visceral, dark fantasy, you won't regret it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hubris: A World of Visceral Adventure
by Sophia B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2017 00:05:30
  • Hubris is a bizarre crockpot for the old school gamer. It might be geared towards DCC but you can easily use it for other systems.
  • I love the way Mike organized the territories. You get lots of material in a handy format.
  • Tons and tons of tables make this a wonderful toolbox for the Game Master.
  • Kitchen-sink. It stuffs everything and your Grandma into the book. I like it but your mileage may vary.
  • My only gripe is that it is over the top. The wackiness is too much now and then. I love most of it. But sometimes, I cringe.

Thumbs up. Hubris is a useful toolbox and a crazy setting. Even if you don’t like everything, you can pick and choose. Hubris can be great fuel for your campaign either way.

Full review: http://dieheart.net/hubris



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hubris: A World of Visceral Adventure
by Derek P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2017 18:31:21

I'm not really an OSR gamer. I'm barely familiar with the Dungeon Crawl Classics system, and honestly I'm turned off by any system that I can't play using my already extensive dice collection. I find FATE unappealing for the same reason. But I'm not here to talk about that. I'm here to talk about Hubris. I just open with that to point out I'm ill suited to pass judgement on any of the mechanical stuff. And I won't even attempt to do so.

Let me tell you what Hubris does right.

Flavor There's a god named The Stillborn Unwanted Child. There's a territory called The Great Plains of Unbidden Sorrow. There's a disease called The Retching Laughter. This is like if Rob Zombie directed a reboot of The Beastmaster. Maybe that's appealing to you. Or maybe it's not. But it should be pretty easy to sort out which is which. Hubris is anything but bland.

Inspiration This isn't the world building of a frustrated novelist. The whole book is set up to serve the GM in putting together an interesting story at the table. For example, chapter 3 is nearly 100 pages long, but packs info on 10 different territories into that space. Each one gets a brief write up, an counter table, a geographic features table, and a handful of interesting locations get their own mini write ups with a couple plot hooks / rumors.

Getting Out of My Way Once the creative juices are flowing there's very little canon details, canned world threatening miscreant, or overarching metaplot to stumble over. Plenty of settings pay lip service to the idea of the GM having free reign to remix and homebrew. But rarely do I see a book whose content embraces that fundamental tenant of our odd little hobby like Hubris does.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hubris: A World of Visceral Adventure
by Łukasz K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2016 06:19:23

Hubris is quite possibly the best D&D book ever. It is just so inspiring, but most importantly it's usable, it's hackable, it's fast, it's fun. It's exactly the kind of stuff I want when I sit down to do a session prep and I don't have a lot of time. Basically it's what all D&D books should be and now that I have it I can't imagine not using it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you SO MUCH Łukasz Krupiński! I really appreciate the review and praise! I am so happy you enjoy it and look forward to hearing how you use it! :)
Hubris: A World of Visceral Adventure
by Randal A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2016 22:08:46

This is by far the best value out of any DCC product that I have ever bought. The setting is great, and very dark. There are TONS of charts in here that can be used to populate the settings or even just drop into your own campaign. The bestiary even includes a ton of charts so you can make all your monsters uniquie. Very highly recomended book. I've never reviewed anything on DriveThru before because I've never found anything this good.

Buy it, you won't regret it!

(As soon as POD comes out I'll be buying that too!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks so much for the praise and review Randal! I really appreciate it and look forward to hearing how/what you use from Hubris!
The Starrunner Kit: A Sci-Fi Space Toolkit
by Samuel D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2016 10:55:55

All I can say is wow! And thank you. This supplement is so valuable for running space games regardless of the rules set. The real value of this book is in the roll tables. Sector, planet, and Space station generation tables make this solid gold. The only thing lacking is a naming list. I never know what to name a planet or station. That is minor though. If you plan on running space opera in any ruleset and especially in White Star you need to get this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Starrunner Kit: A Sci-Fi Space Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review! I appreciate it! I didn\'t include a name generator for space stations (didn\'t occur to me to be honest- silly me), but I do have one for planets on page 65 :)
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG