RPGNet eShop
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
RPGnet eShop Visit the Book Shop
RPGnet columnsRPGnet ForumsRPGnet Gaming IndexRPGnet Reviews



Home » EN Publishing » Reviews
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Judge Dredd & The Worlds of 2000 AD Quickstart
by Jordan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2018 09:01:40

a great little intro to get ready for the main release



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Judge Dredd & The Worlds of 2000 AD Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Judge Dredd & The Worlds of 2000 AD Quickstart
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/08/2018 09:23:24

This manages to explain an awful lot in just a handful of sentences - even if your exposure to Judge Dredd is minimal you should be able to pick up on the general gist of the setting, as well as understand the rules you'll need to play - or GM - the adventure presented here. As expected, the rules here are a cut-down version of the final rules, but as I haven't seen those yet I cannot say how the play experience differs from the full ruleset. However it does state that special ablities called Exploits are not used here, although a few sample ones are given if you want to give them a go. It appears that to accomplish something you'll need to roll a handful of d6s, the number based on your skill and the relevant attribute. Combat is much the same, and is explained clearly.

Four pre-generated characters are provided, all Street Judges. A note explains that the core rulebook provides for playing civilians and perps as well as Judges, should you harbour such ambitions. The adventure is written so as to be played with any of these options, although if you are using the pre-gens you will have to default to the Judge option. Basically, a Judge was killed recently in the Empire State Building and the adventure deals with the aftermath: as Judges the aim is, of course, to bring justice to the perps responsible. The adventure is well constructed and exciting, although it will run best if you are thoroughly familiar with it before play starts.

The floorplans are a bit cramped. Apart from one or two principal NPCs, all the 'foe' stats are at the end rather than where they are ecountered in the module - it might have been worth adding some bookmarks to make them easier to find in the heat of the moment.

Overall, though, this gives a good impression of a game that has captured the spirit and flavour of Judge Dredd; and which should prove enjoyable to play. If a Quickstart leaves you looking forward to seeing the full game, it has done its job... and this one has!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[WOIN] Visna and other Variant Breeds
by Benjamen B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2018 01:59:11

Good book, well worth the buy. Will definitely give my players this option next OLD game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[WOIN] Visna and other Variant Breeds
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Creator Reply:
Much appreciated I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Keep an eye out in the following weeks, I am planning to release many more books regarding races, classes, and exploits. May I ask, what about this publication did you like most? The race itself, the additional career, the variant breed rules, or something else?
Judge Dredd & The Worlds of 2000 AD Quickstart
by Ian W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2018 00:47:17

I backed the full game on kickstarter. The Quickstart rules are just that, but they are developed enough to give a sense of how the game will work when the full version is released. It looks like a pretty easy syste d6 dice pool, adding and subtracting dice as needed and rolling against a target number. The art is neat and helps captrue the atmosphere of the 2000 AD progs. Plus, the quickstart comes with a starter adventure, and that's not nothing. Do yourself a favor, check it out, and become the LAW!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Judge Dredd & The Worlds of 2000 AD Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

N.E.W. The Science Fiction Roleplaying Game v1.2
by Douwe W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2018 03:58:31

This was my first RPG experience. I wanted to have a game where I could leave out magic or psi/chi and this book gave me that option, skipped the PDF and went straight for the hardcover. Loved the career system as you can make a well rounded PC with it. Such an open system that allows careers from OLD and NOW to work smoothly in NEW. The supplements are also great too. With an active community and creater on Enworld.org you can discuss rules and encounters so that you never feel alone and stuck.

Loved it! No, Loving it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
N.E.W. The Science Fiction Roleplaying Game v1.2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

N.E.W. The Science Fiction Roleplaying Game v1.2
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2018 09:27:48

A sandbox system that provides a fast playing comprehensive rules set that give you the opportunity to play in almost any setting. However what sets this title apart is the community behind it. Educated, interested and witty are the people you'll find using WOIN and they have a vast array of resources you can use to flesh out your games. It's a bargain for the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
N.E.W. The Science Fiction Roleplaying Game v1.2
by Jeff R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2018 14:30:40

I bought the book after acquiring the Primer. I wasnt exactly thrilled with the Primer, but I thought that it had promise so I went and got the Hardcover book. Overall, the material is good, but the presentation is iffy.

Plenty of typos throughout the book, made up words ["inbuilt" ??? i assume the writers meant "built-in" or "builtin"] <--- I stand corrected.

Stats dont match the artwork provided The Redeemer Warframe on page 115 and described on page 117 and statted on page 120 makes no reference to the weapons other than mentioning that the wearer can mount an existing rifle or weapon to it.The description doesnt mention its 2 [TWO] mounting hardpoints. What about this???

Chromed Evolved Combat Suit - also not detailed until page 138. Or this?

Still have not found rhe descriptions of the Exotic Melee weapons statted on page 98. Or this???

None of the vehicles, mechs or walkers depected on page 125 [including the obvious "pod racer rip-off" are described. The few that are statted and depected with weapons do not have any weapon systems statted in the book. I didnt ask about rules, I asked about descriptions and weapon stats.

Combat rules are all over the place and barely make sense. A nice, clear of example of a combat situation would be highly beneficial. This concern was avoided as well.

The Good... The overall, general mechanics of the system are ok if not a little clunky. The art is nice.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hi! Thanks for the review! Just to clarify - "inbuilt" is a real word, not a typo, and the vehicle rules are found in N.O.W. The Modern Action Roleplaying Game and also in a separate supplement, Pimp My Ride. Glad you enjoyed the art! :)
War of the Burning Sky: The Complete Campaign (D&D 3.5)
by Branden L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2018 08:56:55

Holy crap. I purchased and downloded this for a few bucks with minimal expectations. What I got is something that could easily have been sold by Wizards for $50. This a professional-quality, full-blown campaign guide with a well thought-out story, detailed NPCs, maps, etc... I run my campaign in an existing setting of my own (well, my wife's) own creation. Fortunately, this campaign guide also includes suugestions for incorporating this campaign story into your own setting.

I'm really looking forward to getting started with this campaign.

If you're looking for a rich campaign setting for your players, or just want some inspiration for your own campaign, I highly recommend purchasing this guide.

My only wish is that they published a 5E version, but 3.5 will do.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Burning Sky: The Complete Campaign (D&D 3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Creator Reply:
Hi! So glad you liked it. We are, indeed, releasing the adventure path for 5E. The first adventure and two guides were just released today, in fact!
[WOIN] Starship Construction Manual v1.1
by Ben B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2018 12:29:22

A fantastic resource for N.E.W. or Space Fight!

Build pretty much any ship you want, captain it in NEW or pit it off in arena combat in Space Fight! Make your own design or dig up information on ships from any fandom you are a part of, and build those, the sky is the limit!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[WOIN] Starship Construction Manual v1.1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

[WOIN] W1: Xenomorphs: The Fall of Somerset Landing
by Ben B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2018 12:07:16

The campaign outlined in the book is fairly fun and I will definitely run it with some peopel at some time... But what I really wanted this book for was to create my own Xenomorphs campaign. All we really need is a template to make other races Xenomorphs and it makes this fully cross compatible with anything WOIN. I mean think of the crossover possibilities. Batman VS Judge Dredd VS Xenomorphs VS Predators is almost fully supported in the WOIN universe. Using this, the NEW core rulebook, and The Last Star Knight supplement, you can make a more amazing Xenomorphs Star Wars crossover than is even remotely possible in Star Wars D20 (trust me, I've tried)

This book is pretty great, I have no complaints. After running homebrew Xenomorphs in other systems that needed too much tweaking, I was happy to see these majestic beasts made available from the publisher :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[WOIN] W1: Xenomorphs: The Fall of Somerset Landing
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

[WOIN] Starship Recognition Manual
by Ben B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2018 11:59:39

There is no shortage of words to describe this book, so I will use only one, phenomenal.

If you like reading about Starships and looking at pretty pictures of starships, this book is well worth the cover price. As an added bonus, it is one of the best starship resources for any game I've ever seen in this price bracket, it has full colour artwork, a table of quirks for used ships, full stats, detailed information on each spacecraft, and some of them even have deck plans. I really love this book and it's quite obvious the authors poured a lot of time and love of their own into this. I honestly recommend this to ANYONE with an interest in starships. And have to say it is an ESSENTIAL resource for any WOIN campaign in space. And also for Space Fight!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[WOIN] Starship Recognition Manual
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

[WOIN] The Holds of Vendalyr
by Ben B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2018 11:36:42

Until I got this book I had wondered what made the Venetians different from Vulcans or maybe Elves, and now I know! This book delves into the rich and interesting history of this race and is definitely worth a read for GMs or any player who wants to play a Venetian character. Almost any kind of information you'd want to know about the Venetian people is in this book as well as some careers, exploits, starships, NPCs, and information on Venetian Martial Arts. Well worth the price and would definitely consider buying again as a present if I have a player interested in playing a Venetian...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[WOIN] The Holds of Vendalyr
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

[WOIN] The Moons of Boria
by Ben B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2018 11:01:15

I will note that my print copy came misprinted, but that is not the fault of EN Publishing and I have been properly reimbursed by DriveThru RPG, so I will not be changing my 5 star rating.

This book itself is amazing. Almost anything you want to know about Borians is in here, from their really interesting star system in a nebula to their society, language, how important crafting and apprenticeships are to them, items, legal info, more careers, star ships, why some Borians are red and some Borians are blue, and even how to talk in a Borian accent!

This book has definitely taught me that there is more to Borians than being "space dwarves" and I think I actually like the Borians more than I like Dwarves (and I like Dwarves)

This book is simply amazing and I wholeheartedly recommend it to any N.E.W. GM (even just the star system can give you ideas) or any player who wants to play a Borian, fantastic resource.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[WOIN] The Moons of Boria
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

WOIN Art Pack (Fantasy)
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2018 08:31:30

34 pieces of imaginative artwork. Most of it very usable in games.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
WOIN Art Pack (Fantasy)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

O.L.D. The Fantasy Heroic Roleplaying Game
by Keith S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2018 17:07:10

Love this book! First off, it is absolutely beautiful. I bought the PDF when it first became available, and then had to have the hardcover when it came out. I hear a lot of complaints about how crunchy the magic system is, but that is actually one of my favorite things about the game. Magic becomes much more rarified and those who do study it actually have to invest time into learning the secrets of their craft. Creating personal spellbooks adds so much flavor to magic weilders, instead of just making them a tempory dip into a career to just to get some powers. Using the careers for charcter creation is a dtroke of genius, as it allows you to tell the story of your character during creation, often leading into new concepts and personality quirks that you hadn't concieved of at teh beginning.

TLDR: Great for customization of characters, magic is deep.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
O.L.D. The Fantasy Heroic Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 694 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG