RPGNet eShop
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
RPGnet eShop Visit the Book Shop
RPGnet columnsRPGnet ForumsRPGnet Gaming IndexRPGnet Reviews



Home » Wizards of the Coast » Reviews
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
REF4 The Book of Lairs II (1e)
by Sean K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2018 17:45:40

Several of the pages have the tops cut off: for example, page 5 features Berserkers, apparently, but I had to check the table of contents to confirm this. The section heading and the first few lines of the page are missing. This happens several times throughout the document.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
REF4 The Book of Lairs II (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
by Akamai O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2018 10:23:32

Fun with the multiple path options in the beginning. allows for very unique perspectives and varied storylines. Still have reservations for the modules of this season as the APL of the modules seem very low for the encounters listed. If not for a juducious application of "DM descretion", I would have continously had multiple TPKs on my hand.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
by Akamai O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2018 10:20:09

The roleplaying opportunities in this module were great and with a bit of flair, players can easily become become sucked into the RP aspect that you don't necessarily get to do in many AL modules due to time constraints.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

DDEX3-02 Shackles of Blood (5e)
by Akamai O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2018 10:15:18

I really enjoyed the modules of this season, my only issue is that the APL of the modules seem very low for the encounters listed. If not for a juducious application of "DM descretion", I would have continously had multiple TPKs on my hand.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-02 Shackles of Blood (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

DDEX3-01 Harried in Hillsfar (5e)
by Akamai O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2018 10:13:46

A great intro module(s) for players getting into 5th edition/new to Adventurers league. The one-hour stories make it easy to move around as well as move characters into/out of the current storyline and opens up the "rebuild" option for new players working on fine tuning their characters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-01 Harried in Hillsfar (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

DDEX3-10 Quelling the Horde (5e)
by Akamai O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2018 10:06:17

I really enjoyed the modules of this season, my only issue is that the APL of the modules seem very low for the encounters listed. If not for a juducious application of "DM descretion", I would have continously had multiple TPKs on my hand.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-10 Quelling the Horde (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2018 23:35:09

The Season 5 Tier 2's,while not as exceptional as the Tier 1's, are still pretty solid.

This is a good, quick mod that can be easily slotted into a Storm King's Thunder hardcover campaign, given it's short length.

The initial infiltration can be a bit tricky, so drop hints to the party to ensure they don't try a head-on approach.

Prep a few personalities for the dwarven soldiers and NCO's so that any losses of or self- sacrifice by the dwarves are more meaningful.

The final encounter can be a satisfying final fight or an opportunity for some epic deceptive play against dumb opponents.

A solid mid, with a bit of extra prep can be very memorable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2018 23:23:36

One of the best introductory suites of mini-adventures. The first and second adventures are hilarious, with some great story awards. The third and fourth adventures can be quite deadly, go easy on the PCs for those ones. The fifth one is a good one for the murderhobos in your party.

I highly recommend this mod for players new to either AL or even D&D in general.

A great mod, as are most of the Season 5 Tier 1's.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2018 23:10:50

First AL mod I ever ran, and still one of my favorites. Has a good tactical mook combats, an optional RP encounter, a crisis needing quick thinking and skill checks, and two options for a final battle. Well structured, fun to run as well as play. The final battles can be very challenging if the party lacks AOE effects.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

DDEX2-02 Embers of Elmwood (5e)
by Summer Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2018 01:01:34

After having played through this once as a player and twice as a DM, I can honestly say this module is a crowd pleaser. I just ran it again tonight and the adventure went completely off the rails once the players decided to double cross the double crossers! Great fun was had by all each player got to use some of their strength. Make sure you read through this one very well! You want to be clear on what should be happening where during the main event. Rosealine Culkin's manor is massive and so is the Chapterhouse. Make sure you draw the maps beforehand, if possible.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-02 Embers of Elmwood (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
by Chris E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2018 16:46:59

I really liked even prepping for this. This is a great way to end the parnast series. My players really by the end of the series felt for the people and were really interested in coming up with solutions. They really worked together and actually split up alot of duties based on their strengths. I really had to limit time and gave them 2.5 hours to prep and about 2 hours for the second part. This really crunched the players to work fast. They were actually panicking a little about getting it done. This created the urgency to prep, collect their allies, prep the town and come together. The fights, as everyone said, are no joking matter. They are tough. I took what someone said and since my players were almost apathetic about letting Chandra leave and die, and they went to extra effort to get her back, I gave them some healing services from her. The last two waves are rough on the players if they are range low, but since my players convinced Thornacious to help, it made it a little easier. (7 players and 4 of them have high charisma, they were able to easily sway allies, and townsfolk).

Summary: Great Adventure, great finish but be prepared and know your players. No laughing joke for levels 3-4.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

DDAL05-12 Bad Business in Parnast (5e)
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2018 10:23:54

It's.... Okay. Like usual, if the players are murder hobos, part 2 may be hilarious for a while. But on the DM part, I think there are many things the DM have to remember. You really need to read the whole thing carefully.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-12 Bad Business in Parnast (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

DDAL05-07 Chelimber's Descent (5e)
by Stephen L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2018 14:49:54

The Good:

  • The first portion has interesting things both flavor and mechanics wise for players to mess with. Some good ol' investigating with plenty of variety as well as short and sweet.

The Bad:

  • The second portion can feel like a slog. Most of my players pretty much stopped caring halfway through this part.
  • Combat is way too easy, to the point where it didn't interest players much. The rest of the scenario isn't evocative enough flavor wise to make up for it. Really needed spicing up.


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-07 Chelimber's Descent (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

DDAL05-06 Beneath the Fetid Chelimber (5e)
by Stephen L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2018 14:44:45

Overall a solid scenario.

The Good:

  • Plenty of chances for each player to shine.
  • Decent flexibility on how players can approach the latter portion.

The Bad:

  • Final combat could be better balanced, the fight that preceded it was rather more difficult.
  • Navication scene, if the players are unlucky, can really drag on. Should implement a mechanic to get them out of it before it starts to get wearisome.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-06 Beneath the Fetid Chelimber (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

In Volo's Wake (5e)
by Mitch E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2018 15:56:32

It would get a better rating from me if not for the god-awful writing. Who thought it was okay to replace "adventurers" with "characters?" There are a bunch of other writing and formatting problems as well, but that one's the most prominent and the most annoying. And it's been a while since it was released, so I'm surprised nobody's bothered to make an update. That's just poor handling.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 5216 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG