RPGNet eShop
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
RPGnet eShop Visit the Book Shop
RPGnet columnsRPGnet ForumsRPGnet Gaming IndexRPGnet Reviews



Home » White Wolf » Strangeness in the Proportion » Reviews
Narrow Results











Back
Strangeness in the Proportion $3.99
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
7 10
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Strangeness in the Proportion
Click to view
Strangeness in the Proportion
Publisher: White Wolf
by Ryan T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/05/2015 08:01:56

I didn't want to follow the crowd and give this book five stars. I wanted to be realistic. Bring a critical eye to the table. But...Mother Hubbard! This is a good story. A great one! And, honestly, when I look at some elements of it, that sort of surprises me. Right off the bat, you see what would appear to be that overly complex Look At How Big My Vocabulary Is writing style. And references to Poe? Hot Topic left a very sour taste in my mouth in regards to such things. And yet...for these and other potential pitfalls, the author manages to justify them. Tropes that you'd assume are cliché or trite feel, much like Simon Meeks himself, entirely genuine. I will admit that the dialogue is often too complex and witty to read like natural speech, but even that is a small criticism compared to just how clever and fun and moving that dialogue can be. There are so many characters and concepts in this book that are so wonderful they make me mad. For, now that I've read of them, I can't think of them on my own. And oh, how I wish I had, for even a scant handful of them! A story like this could have turned out an absolute mess. It clearly took great skill to keep a firm hold of the reins, but author and editors, somehow, manage just that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strangeness in the Proportion
Publisher: White Wolf
by Josh L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2014 15:21:56

I cannot quite determine how, in it's entirety, this book has so quickly taken a hold on me. During its original run on White Wolf's website, I was lucky enough to come across it, and even then, I felt there was something special about it; there was something unique to the work that just seemed to pull at my heart and soul. However, as the story goes, awaiting new chapters, I grew lax in my reading, and with the exception of the occasional mention in the back of my mind (perhaps a Corbie's whisper?), I forgot about "Strangeness in the Proportion." Jump ahead over a year, and the time came for a Christmas gift. As if on cue, the whisper came again, reminding me of the story's existence, and lo and behold, a printed copy was available in addition to the ebook. With that decided, the book soon came in and the gift was delivered with much merriment.

All I remained with was the ebook, and figuring the time was now right, I dove back into the World of Darkness. It shames me that it took me so long. Taking it in all at once, this superbly supernatural, and altogether mystifying tale drew me in, and at once I fell in love with it. With a plot as troubling to describe as it is wonderful, my friends have become sick of hearing me exclaim my own personal accolades for it. The dark, disturbing, and terrifying tale of Simon Meeks and Jane Doe is also one of classic romanticism, that will forevermore hold a place in my heart and my bookshelf.

Needless to say, I feel that the titans of modern horror could take a lesson from Mr. Joshua Alan Doetsch.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strangeness in the Proportion
Publisher: White Wolf
by Nancy D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/15/2013 11:28:04

The portal to Narnia may have been a wardrobe, but the portal to fears and nightmares is that dark corner in the back of your closet, at night. I felt as if this novel was written there; I can vividly picture the author crouching over parchment, scribbling with a quill, by candlelight, in deafening silence. If you like dipping your toes on the dark side of your mind, give this novel a try.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strangeness in the Proportion
Publisher: White Wolf
by Martin S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/15/2013 03:48:59

You will fall in love with this book the same way Simon Meeks fell in love with his Jane Doe at their first unlikely meeting. The book reads like walk through dream world of wonders and nightmares withs a flow of Poe's dark poems. You are going to peer into weird darkness of the world and of the psyche. For all the lovers and fans of weird, dark and strange.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strangeness in the Proportion
Publisher: White Wolf
by Eric C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/14/2013 10:30:51

You know how much I love this book? I'm on my 3rd read through. Seriously this is one of the best horror fictions I've read in a long time. Even though it is set in the New World of Darkness setting it stands strong as it's own entity. You'll see little Easter eggs here and there but you won't feel like you're reading a game fiction. The characters are so life-like..no pun..that you start to care for them. Simon, Nyx, even Icky. The love story between Simon and Jane is so sincere you wonder what happens afterwards. Plus I am a huge fan of the corbies. Give it a read I doubt you'll be disappointed. Take a trip to the Dead Waters, you'd be surprised who you might run into.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strangeness in the Proportion
Publisher: White Wolf
by Kevin L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2012 23:36:36

Joshua Doetsch wrote an artful masterpiece with this book. It's a beautifully polished gem of the macabre, romance, and mild mannered madness. Much as Jim Butcher has found his place writing urban fantasy or Jon Howard with his Johannes Cabal series, Doetsch brings a dark, almost manic glee to horror fiction.

This book is what rekindled my interest in White Wolf's publications and the horror genre of books. Instead of summarizing the book's plot, I'll point you, the reader, to other reviews. Instead, I will advise you to pick this book up. It is a very enjoyable read/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strangeness in the Proportion
Publisher: White Wolf
by Frank E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2012 10:56:32

My review of STRANGENESS IN THE PROPORTION as posted on GoodReads.com

I read many books. More times then not the book is good. Once in awhile the book is really good. On a rare and cherished occasion, the book is extraordinary. STRANGENESS IN THE PROPORTION by Joshua Alan Doetsch is extraordinary. I need to shout this from the rooftops more so than any other precious great read I've come across before because STRANGENESS IN THE PROPORTION is a small press publication.

This book should really go down as one of the most important horror/gothic novels ever written. STRANGENESS IN THE PROPORTION is classic, timeless and important. It's a sharp,sharp piece of writing. It was written from the Poe school and has set the bar as a modern school of it's own. Doetsch the student has become Doetsch the teacher.

STRANGENESS IN THE PROPORTION is more then just horror. It is romance. It is macarbre. It is mystery. It is crime. It is truth and it is fantastic. The characters are brilliant and more vivid then the many popular authors can muster. The story is multi-faceted and gripping the entire ride. It ends nowhere near where it started and the lines drawn between are seamless.

READ THIS BOOK! It is available at http://www.drivethrufiction.com and is available in both eBook and print editions. The eBook price is a steal and you can get a print/digital bundle for an insane price. Such a modern classic is obscene at either price point and you owe it to yourself to pick this gem up. I expect you will preach the gospel of Doetsch when you finish as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strangeness in the Proportion
Publisher: White Wolf
by Andrew L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2011 23:23:38

One of the best WOD stories I've ever read. I thoroughly enjoyed it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strangeness in the Proportion
Publisher: White Wolf
by Martine H. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/05/2011 11:35:22

Joshua Alan Doetsch drops the reader into the middle of the action, and never lets up. As we follow coroner and dark-water addict Simon Meeks through the streets of Chicago, into the darkest corners of the human—and inhuman—experience, we get twisted and turned until even we don't know what's real and what's due to Simon's absinth habit or the corbies in his head. And yet we're right there with Simon when he first meets Jane, we cry when he loses her, and we know he needs to follow the path wherever it leads, because he has to finds her again. For how often do you experience true obsession?

If anyone had told me before I read Strangeness in the Proportion that I'd cheer for a necrophiliac searching for the corpse he loves, I'm not sure I would've believed it. But like all great pieces of fiction, Doetsch knows how to spin the tale just right to make us love our protagonist. Simon is a wonderfully warped character, and I cherished every minute I spent with him.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strangeness in the Proportion
Publisher: White Wolf
by Liz P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2011 13:08:32

A great read for those looking for something different. Something unique. Something that will force you to fall in love with villains just as much as heroes, and geeks and outcasts just as much as princes. Strangeness in the proportion leads you down a mind wending path into a world constructed around mythos and lore based on the White Wolf, World of Darkness realm. Those whom are familiar with this world will find themselves enthralled with a new cast of characters, and those who aren’t? No worries. You aren’t the only new kid on the block. You will be learning alongside Simon, the protagonist of this tale, with a little help from guides and friends he meets along the way; like Nyx, a purple lipsticked bad-ass beauty, and Loki, his ever trusty “shadow.”

How did Simon get mixed up in this unusual world? The same way anyone would. He fell in love…. With a corpse. Okay, maybe not quite the same way. Working in the city morgue, when Jane Doe’s lovely body goes missing and not one of his colleagues can recall her case, he can’t rest until she is found and the mystery is put to rest—and her body is put back together, piece by piece.

Never before has a book about demons, conspiracy, cannibalism, and things that go “bump” in the night, been penned with such sophistication. Joshua Alan Doetsch shows great promise in becoming a writer to push limits and break conventional boundaries of the literary world. Strangeness in the Proportion, his first, of what is surely to be a long line of successful novels, is a treat not to be missed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
Powered by DriveThruRPG