RPGNet eShop
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
RPGnet eShop Visit the Book Shop
RPGnet columnsRPGnet ForumsRPGnet Gaming IndexRPGnet Reviews



Home » W.M. Akers » Deadball: Baseball With Dice » Reviews
Narrow Results











Back
Deadball: Baseball With Dice $10.00
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
14 8
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Deadball: Baseball With Dice
Click to view
Deadball: Baseball With Dice
Publisher: W.M. Akers
by Beau C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2017 01:00:41

I agree with all the five star reviews... this is a great game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadball: Baseball With Dice
Publisher: W.M. Akers
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/26/2017 20:59:24

I will preface my review by saying I played both Dungeons and Dragons and Brett Ball (a baseball board game endorsed by George Brett) in the 80s, to give you an idea of my background. I bought this game based on the reviews, and the hopes that I could have a fun baseball simulation to tide me over in the off-season. Thanks to the ease of adapting rosters, I played my first game between the 1927 Yankees (possibly the greatest team of all time) against the 1985 Braves (one of the worst teams of all time). I knew I had a fantastic game when the Braves managed to get Rafael Ramirez (a lifetime .230 hitter, maybe) to third, only to get him thrown out at home on a botched bunt by Rick Mahler. Babe Ruth managed to strike out twice and go 0-4 with a walk in the game, despite his .358 average. Dale Murphy (the Braves All-Star and 2-time MVP) managed 0-5 despite his .300 average and league-leading 37 homers. My starters got tired, my relievers struck out the side, and a few players hit into double plays. In short, it felt like a real baseball game with all of the ebbs-and-flows without any of the "gimmicks" you find in video game simulations of baseball. I highly recommend this game for anyone with RPG experience (and a set of dice) who loves the history of baseball.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadball: Baseball With Dice
Publisher: W.M. Akers
by Jason T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2017 17:13:05

It really is crazy how you can feel like you are playing baseball with some dice, paper, and pencil but Deadball really puts you in there. Such a great game and really easy to learn.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadball: Baseball With Dice
Publisher: W.M. Akers
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2017 11:38:11

This is a great small game with plenty of action, character and heart. Games run quick and the customiztion make the replay on this infinite. I have just as much fun playing whether I am using this season's current stats for players or a game or simulating a "What if?" game of legends past. Want to see the All-Stars of today compete with the greatest players of yeteryear? No problem. I would recommend for anyone looking for a small, quick (with campaign/immersive possibilities as well).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadball: Baseball With Dice
Publisher: W.M. Akers
by Rudy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2017 23:20:43

This is a great tabletop baseball game. Very easy to learn and also quite realistic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadball: Baseball With Dice
Publisher: W.M. Akers
by Adam G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/29/2017 16:19:38

This is the table top baseball game I've been searching for. Quick, easy, realistic, and fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadball: Baseball With Dice
Publisher: W.M. Akers
by Brian L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/29/2017 10:57:48

Realistic baseball in a quick and easy system. Takes almost no time to learn. Higly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadball: Baseball With Dice
Publisher: W.M. Akers
by Todd E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2017 19:39:26

This game is really great. Easy to learn, with mechanics based on the statistics from the game, you can play a nine-inning game in less than an hour. My favorite part is using the five-tool system to create my own players, including my daughter who is a ground-ball specialist pitching ace and my own avatar, a slow, power-hitting catcher. The game creates great storylines that really feel like a baseball game, like late inning rallies off of tiring pitchers and clutch performances from pinch hitters.

Akers did a great job with this game - it's a real gem that I love to spend an hour or two with the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
Powered by DriveThruRPG