RPGNet eShop
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
RPGnet eShop Visit the Book Shop
RPGnet columnsRPGnet ForumsRPGnet Gaming IndexRPGnet Reviews



Home » Monte Cook Games » Reviews
Browse Categories
M&A Memos
M&A Memos
$1.99 $0.99











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Technology Compendium: Sir Arthour’s Guide to the Numenera
by Mike P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2018 02:36:28

This book offers an absolute ton of creative, quasi-magical, and downright alien devices, each with a to-the-point description of its capabilities but some with highly ambiguous origins or intended mode of use. Even if you don't run Numenera at all, if you have any interest in sci-fi-themed campaigns or if you're just looking for new twists on magic items then this book is a treasure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Technology Compendium: Sir Arthour’s Guide to the Numenera
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Creatures of Blood and Flesh
by Megan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2018 17:34:05

I really love this inventive setting for Cypher. It includes Foci, Descriptors, and Classes so that your characters can easily fit in with the setting. It also gives you a lot of information on what to pull from the core Cypher book and how it fits in. if you're looking for some good scifi for your Cypher game, this is the perfect place to set your game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creatures of Blood and Flesh
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

No Safe Place: A Predation Scenario
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2018 21:38:35

More Predation! Awesome! This scenario has a lot of detail packed into just a few pages. I think i'll be using this in my next session!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
No Safe Place: A Predation Scenario
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

In Strange Aeons: Lovecraftian Numenera
by E. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2018 15:33:39

A neat idea, but not quite in line with Numenera. Numenera is a game about encountering the weirdness, coming to understand it, and growing stronger from it. That is at fundamental odds with Lovecraft. Still, it's the right price and a nice way to add in unusual or unsettling elements to a Numenera game.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
In Strange Aeons: Lovecraftian Numenera
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Mortal Fantasy
by Bobert P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2018 10:28:29

I'm going to start with my only critique, which is a small number (a handful, really) of typos/punctuation/etc.

That being said, WOAH. As a newer player to the system, Mortal Fantasy is a great supplement to the Cypher sustem, in my opinion; it includes various options for keeping that D&D feel, as well as sound advice for players and GM's alike.

Of note, I particularly liked the new Types, the easy, straightforward concept used for Race (when applicable!), and the short adventure is well written and thoughtful. 10/10.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mortal Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Ashes of the Sea FREE Numenera Quickstart Rules and Adventure
by James F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2018 01:54:13

Wow, for a free product, this is incredible. I have run this one-shot many times, and players still surprise me. There's a good mix of encounters here. The science-fantasy weirdness is strong in this one.

If you've ever wanted to get into Numenera, get this and play with it.

Then once you're easily convinced, get the full Numenera: Discovery & Destiny rule books. I pledged for the exclusive deluxe boxset (which also included the PDFs), since I know MCG products are exceptional quality.

Join us in the Ninth world!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ashes of the Sea FREE Numenera Quickstart Rules and Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

NPCyphers
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2018 17:01:01

Great idea! I'm looking forward to using this in my campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
NPCyphers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

NPC Deck
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2018 20:28:51

Not much to say -- it is a great help for low-prep improv games.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
NPC Deck
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Cruel Stars: Gear
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2018 09:51:59

I've been writing a space opera campaign using the Cypher system core rules, and while the core book is sufficient for most of it, I wanted to have a more flavorful combat system all without necessarily having a tactical space game that was separate from the rest of the cypher rules. So, I started writing up weapons and starship types .. and I thought, self, shouldn't there be a resource for this? And sure enough, the cypher system FB group recommended this book to me. And while the starship combat sections were short, it's what I thought a dogfighting system should look like, along with sample stats for both ships and weapons.

Liking it a lot. Like, a lot. This fits into the cypher system like a hand in a glove. Recommended for anyone who wants a Space Opera flavor to their cypher system game.

Thank you! And now I'm looking at what other products are on offer ... Wait, do I see character roles for a space opera game? Oooh. In any case, this review is done, and on to other cypher system books from this author.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cruel Stars: Gear
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Heroic Essentials, Mix Tape 1
by anthony f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2018 21:29:43

I just finished reading this and I must say WoW this product is pretty awesome. Not only is this great for Unmasked but the foci are great for any super setting. At a glance they all seem well balanced and totally different from anything in Unmasked or the Cyphersystem corebook. Great Read and worth picking up for sure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Essentials, Mix Tape 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Cryptids and Creatures I
by Chris M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2018 08:08:25

This supplement adds a new dimension to your Cypher game, literally. Welcome to the Phasic realm, another dimension. This supplement gives a brief, one-page description of this alternate dimension, before launching into the denizens that inhabit it. A non-sentent predator, a sentient-yet-primitive humanoid, and an insectile-like race with as many morphs as it has castes. These creatures can easily provide a single night of horror for a one-shot game, or many sessions for an invasion-type campaign.

This supplement, and the creatures within are designed to be used with virtuallty any genre. They are useable in any of the published Cypher settings, or almost any conceivable other genre.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cryptids and Creatures I
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Mortal Fantasy
by Dean L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2018 15:57:42

Here is a supplement that you can really sink your teeth in to. It brings the traditional feelings of Dungeons & Dragons into the world of free flowing fantasy that is God's of the Fall and Cypher Systems games in general. This is certified fresh-ness and Ganza Gaming works magic with the the tried and true of the days of old. Now they are relevant and fresh once again in a world of Epic fantasy yet to be explored.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mortal Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Heroic Essentials, Mix Tape 1
by Chris M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2018 12:18:20

Picked this up recently and thougth I’d give my impressions. First off, an overview of what is included. For the price of admission, you get the Primordeal Descriptor, 10 new Foci and 10 pregenerated characters for the Unmasked setting.

The Descriptor, Primordeal, is new and novel, and really fitting in a superhero setting, but would also be easily ported into any other Cypher setting.

The 10 new Foci are Absorbs Kinetic Energy, Dominate Minds, Has Animal or Plant Powers, Is a Paragon, Is Synchronous, Is Unstoppable, Realizes Perfection, Summons, Wields Cosmic Energy, Wields Forcefields. Of these, one is a bit convoluted and I’m still attempting to wrap my head around it, but the others are excellent, and perfectly suited Unmasked and other Supers genre games.

Each of the new Foci has an example character.

As a bonus, you also get a short adventure hook, and a profile for a new alien creature.

Much of the content of this supplement includes “Work out the details with the GM”. This is something I really like. It really reinforces that this is YOUR game and you should do with it as you want. Make things up, change things, do what is cool and awesome.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Essentials, Mix Tape 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Cypher System Rules Primer
by Matthew A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2018 14:58:02

I loved this preview! I've played this game a few times with friends but never really understood where the GM was coming up with the target numbers. This quick rules set explains everything. And since its only 17 pages, it was just very inviting to read, especially since I don't usually have a whole lot of time to pour over a large volume. Great, easy system to learn!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cypher System Rules Primer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Eschatology Code
by Greg S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2018 02:02:17

This is one of my favorite adventures. It's a solid 4 hour adventure to run at a con, or to introduce new players to the game. Besides being a really fun story, I like that there are optional pieces to the adventure, to let you strech or shrink the storyline to fit a given amount of playtime.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eschatology Code
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 285 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG