RPGNet eShop
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
RPGnet eShop Visit the Book Shop
RPGnet columnsRPGnet ForumsRPGnet Gaming IndexRPGnet Reviews



Home » Monte Cook Games » Reviews
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Cypher System Rules Primer
by Matthew A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2018 14:58:02

I loved this preview! I've played this game a few times with friends but never really understood where the GM was coming up with the target numbers. This quick rules set explains everything. And since its only 17 pages, it was just very inviting to read, especially since I don't usually have a whole lot of time to pour over a large volume. Great, easy system to learn!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cypher System Rules Primer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Eschatology Code
by Greg S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2018 02:02:17

This is one of my favorite adventures. It's a solid 4 hour adventure to run at a con, or to introduce new players to the game. Besides being a really fun story, I like that there are optional pieces to the adventure, to let you strech or shrink the storyline to fit a given amount of playtime.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eschatology Code
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Cruel Stars: Gear
by Al M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2018 16:19:07

Another A+ product from Ganza! A great supplement for space cypher games



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cruel Stars: Gear
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Pre-Gens, Foci & Adventure Seeds 1
by Mark K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2017 11:58:58

Pre-Gens look good, and the Foci are nice. They seem balanced so far. The adventure seeds might be a little light, but Dean puts a nice new coat of paint on some old favorites.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pre-Gens, Foci & Adventure Seeds 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Cypher System Rulebook FREE PREVIEW
by TBeholder C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2017 07:50:21

Indeed, this preview doesn't even tell us whether the game uses drawing cards or it's just d20 cut down to 3 stats. But has lots of bright pics that probably can attract a 10-years old. The only facts that became transparent:

  1. Cypher is basically a tri-stat.
  2. Cypher is supposed to be universal (genre-wise) - but that's expectable for a tri-stat. It's modular but has very light mechanics even with add-ons.
  3. Cypher is loaded with excess of ideosink… idiosyncraz… proprietary gimmicky duckspeak.


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Cypher System Rulebook FREE PREVIEW
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Unmasked: Day One
by John N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2017 05:37:20

It was a nice little teaser, but I was hoping for something more. I get the whole special mask thing, but it really did not give me much to truly understand what the world was about. Maybe a conflict where the character used the mask would have been cool. It just gave me more questions. Oh well, I'm already planning my campaign. I just need to wait for the book to come out.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Unmasked: Day One
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

The Spire of the Hunting Sound Quickstart Adventure
by rob t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2017 06:13:16

This module is great for the cypher system. Its gives a great themed story but leaves nice amount of room for the GM to expand on the fly and has some failsafes is the story goes off track. There are one or two sections that are a bit brutal two checks or instant death but could be danced around without to much trouble if you're a nicer GM and have a bit of creativity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Spire of the Hunting Sound Quickstart Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Treasure of the Rio Grande
by Brandon N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2017 12:46:50

This will become part of our campaign in The Strange. Upon the initial read-through, I wish I was a player in this recursion! The details are what makes this so amazing. From the "what X knows about Y" in the town description to the period weapon charts (and penny slots), this is a complete product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Treasure of the Rio Grande
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Fantasy Ancestries
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2017 18:22:48

Many fantasy systems treat race as a "one and done," where you get some features at the start of the campaign and that’s it. As your character grows, other features overshadow your race, and eventually it hardly matters.

By using the Cypher System’s Flavor mechanic, Megan Tolentino lets the player decide how much they want to lean into their racial heritage. At every tier the player can give up a Type abilities to pick up a Flavor one, making it an interesting choice. It compares favorably with how some d20 games, like 13th Age, use layers of racial feats to allow players to dive deep into their race if they want.

All these heritage flavors are good, but I really want to make a Draconic or Fiendish Cypher System character right now!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Ancestries
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

A Breath of Fresh Air
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2017 10:32:40

I discovered this adventure via a review shared in a Numenera/Cypher System community. The many positive reviews it was receiving convinced me to take a look. It proved to be a great adventure!

While I could see this adventure being adapted to a variety of settings, it's absolutely perfect for Numenera. It features wondrous technologies; strange and beautiful lifeforms; and an ethical dilemma that feels very true-to-life. Numenera is a setting that is supposed to ask tough questions, at times. This adventure does so brilliantly. The challenge arises naturally, with no railroading or arm-twisting required.

I look forward to working this into a campaign. I'm actually a bit sad that I'll never discover at the table as a player. It's a very well executed adventure that could've been pretty thrilling to experience first as a player.

I highly recommend this adventure. It's simple, thorough presentation and execution; the impressive moral quandary; and the creatively designed "alien" culture presented within all ensure that I'll take a look at this author's other work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Breath of Fresh Air
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

A Breath of Fresh Air
by Daniel Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2017 21:46:58

I've talked before about the differences between strategic and narrative role-playing games (RPGs). Some systems lend themselves more to one than the other. Sometimes it comes down to the adventure being played.

There are adventures written to be a series of combats, emphasizing the strategic aspects of the characters being played. Others, like A Breath of Fresh Air by Janek Sielicki for the Cypher System has combat, but is designed to give the players an opportunity to dig into the characters' personalities.

A Breath of Fresh Air has the party facing challenges that are more than just overcoming a number of combats to achieve their goals. Some of the ideas are familiar to what narrative players are used to, but with a nice twist.

The party is positioned to put themselves into the hands of fate. They're faced with overwhelming odds and an escape route presents itself (a standard play for one-shot convention style games). They just don't know what is in store for them by utilizing the opportunity.

This leads the party to be in an environment they cannot survive in for a long period of time. With the timer set, they have to figure out how to communicate with creatures they're not familiar with. Then, as they come to understand the position they are in, they must take actions which could have serious consequences.

Using this adventure as a one-shot or in a campaign has the potential of impacting players and characters in future play. A Breath of Fresh Air will have most players, and characters, questioning their choices as they start to learn about their predicament and the possible consequences of what they decide on doing.

For the standalone adventure, that is the part affecting the characters. In a campaign setting you now have characters who have faced a situation most people don't have to ever face. This gives the players the opportunity to role-play out the impact on their characters in future adventures. The characters will have something to look back on, see what they've done before, and use it as a significant part of their story.

For those who are familiar with ethical dilemmas, A Breath of Fresh Air establishes one nicely. It is well placed in the setting. The options are their within the framework of the game, which makes this a more acceptable location of delving into the underlying theme.

This has been a fun adventure leaving the players, and the game master, thinking afterwards.

Originally published on Guild Master Gaming on Blogspot



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Races As Types (Cypher System)
by John N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/02/2017 09:33:39

I really love the work put into this. I'm very lazy when it comes to running my games, I just like to run them and concentrate on the story. This supplement reworked the Character Type rules, but in a good way.

If you want the feel of old school rpgs, but not the restricting rules, then this is the supplement you've been looking for. It does take a bit getting used to the new ruleset, but it is not difficult. He even made a reason to play a human, which is nice.

The main reason this is 4 stars instead of 5 is I felt it needed a template for creating your own race. Some example characters would have been nice and a step by step how to make a character in this system would have been helpful for new players.

Other than that, this is a great supplement.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Races As Types (Cypher System)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Jade Colossus: Ruins of the Prior Worlds FREE PREVIEW
by Benjamin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2017 15:50:16

Very well done even for a preview of a game setting and campaign. I would highly recommend it to the dnd and rpg community as well as new dms and gms. This would be just as good as a resource to use to build random maps for other games as it is for this one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Jade Colossus: Ruins of the Prior Worlds FREE PREVIEW
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Predation
by Ronaldo F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2017 12:13:14

Fun setting and concept, amazing art and the feeling of a 80's cartoon updated to today. If you are going to pick one setting for Cypher beyond Numenera and Strange, pick this one!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Predation
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

A Breath of Fresh Air
by Katarzyna S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2017 02:19:19

I was in the final playtesting group. This is a spine-chilling, attention-grabbing and mystery-ridden adventure! A definite must - but please be warned that you will never look at mushrooms in the same way...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Breath of Fresh Air
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 272 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG