RPGNet eShop
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
RPGnet eShop Visit the Book Shop
RPGnet columnsRPGnet ForumsRPGnet Gaming IndexRPGnet Reviews



Home » Monte Cook Games » Reviews
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Heroic Essentials, Mix Tape 1
by anthony f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2018 21:29:43

I just finished reading this and I must say WoW this product is pretty awesome. Not only is this great for Unmasked but the foci are great for any super setting. At a glance they all seem well balanced and totally different from anything in Unmasked or the Cyphersystem corebook. Great Read and worth picking up for sure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Essentials, Mix Tape 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Cryptids and Creatures I
by Chris M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2018 08:08:25

This supplement adds a new dimension to your Cypher game, literally. Welcome to the Phasic realm, another dimension. This supplement gives a brief, one-page description of this alternate dimension, before launching into the denizens that inhabit it. A non-sentent predator, a sentient-yet-primitive humanoid, and an insectile-like race with as many morphs as it has castes. These creatures can easily provide a single night of horror for a one-shot game, or many sessions for an invasion-type campaign.

This supplement, and the creatures within are designed to be used with virtuallty any genre. They are useable in any of the published Cypher settings, or almost any conceivable other genre.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cryptids and Creatures I
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Mortal Fantasy
by Dean L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2018 15:57:42

Here is a supplement that you can really sink your teeth in to. It brings the traditional feelings of Dungeons & Dragons into the world of free flowing fantasy that is God's of the Fall and Cypher Systems games in general. This is certified fresh-ness and Ganza Gaming works magic with the the tried and true of the days of old. Now they are relevant and fresh once again in a world of Epic fantasy yet to be explored.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mortal Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Heroic Essentials, Mix Tape 1
by Chris M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2018 12:18:20

Picked this up recently and thougth I’d give my impressions. First off, an overview of what is included. For the price of admission, you get the Primordeal Descriptor, 10 new Foci and 10 pregenerated characters for the Unmasked setting.

The Descriptor, Primordeal, is new and novel, and really fitting in a superhero setting, but would also be easily ported into any other Cypher setting.

The 10 new Foci are Absorbs Kinetic Energy, Dominate Minds, Has Animal or Plant Powers, Is a Paragon, Is Synchronous, Is Unstoppable, Realizes Perfection, Summons, Wields Cosmic Energy, Wields Forcefields. Of these, one is a bit convoluted and I’m still attempting to wrap my head around it, but the others are excellent, and perfectly suited Unmasked and other Supers genre games.

Each of the new Foci has an example character.

As a bonus, you also get a short adventure hook, and a profile for a new alien creature.

Much of the content of this supplement includes “Work out the details with the GM”. This is something I really like. It really reinforces that this is YOUR game and you should do with it as you want. Make things up, change things, do what is cool and awesome.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Essentials, Mix Tape 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Cypher System Rules Primer
by Matthew A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2018 14:58:02

I loved this preview! I've played this game a few times with friends but never really understood where the GM was coming up with the target numbers. This quick rules set explains everything. And since its only 17 pages, it was just very inviting to read, especially since I don't usually have a whole lot of time to pour over a large volume. Great, easy system to learn!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cypher System Rules Primer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Eschatology Code
by Greg S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2018 02:02:17

This is one of my favorite adventures. It's a solid 4 hour adventure to run at a con, or to introduce new players to the game. Besides being a really fun story, I like that there are optional pieces to the adventure, to let you strech or shrink the storyline to fit a given amount of playtime.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eschatology Code
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Cruel Stars: Gear
by Al M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2018 16:19:07

Another A+ product from Ganza! A great supplement for space cypher games



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cruel Stars: Gear
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Pre-Gens, Foci & Adventure Seeds 1
by Mark K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2017 11:58:58

Pre-Gens look good, and the Foci are nice. They seem balanced so far. The adventure seeds might be a little light, but Dean puts a nice new coat of paint on some old favorites.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pre-Gens, Foci & Adventure Seeds 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Cypher System Rulebook FREE PREVIEW
by TBeholder C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2017 07:50:21

Indeed, this preview doesn't even tell us whether the game uses drawing cards or it's just d20 cut down to 3 stats. But has lots of bright pics that probably can attract a 10-years old. The only facts that became transparent:

  1. Cypher is basically a tri-stat.
  2. Cypher is supposed to be universal (genre-wise) - but that's expectable for a tri-stat. It's modular but has very light mechanics even with add-ons.
  3. Cypher is loaded with excess of ideosink… idiosyncraz… proprietary gimmicky duckspeak.


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Cypher System Rulebook FREE PREVIEW
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Unmasked: Day One
by John N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2017 05:37:20

It was a nice little teaser, but I was hoping for something more. I get the whole special mask thing, but it really did not give me much to truly understand what the world was about. Maybe a conflict where the character used the mask would have been cool. It just gave me more questions. Oh well, I'm already planning my campaign. I just need to wait for the book to come out.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Unmasked: Day One
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

The Spire of the Hunting Sound Quickstart Adventure
by rob t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2017 06:13:16

This module is great for the cypher system. Its gives a great themed story but leaves nice amount of room for the GM to expand on the fly and has some failsafes is the story goes off track. There are one or two sections that are a bit brutal two checks or instant death but could be danced around without to much trouble if you're a nicer GM and have a bit of creativity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Spire of the Hunting Sound Quickstart Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Treasure of the Rio Grande
by Brandon N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2017 12:46:50

This will become part of our campaign in The Strange. Upon the initial read-through, I wish I was a player in this recursion! The details are what makes this so amazing. From the "what X knows about Y" in the town description to the period weapon charts (and penny slots), this is a complete product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Treasure of the Rio Grande
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Fantasy Ancestries
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2017 18:22:48

Many fantasy systems treat race as a "one and done," where you get some features at the start of the campaign and that’s it. As your character grows, other features overshadow your race, and eventually it hardly matters.

By using the Cypher System’s Flavor mechanic, Megan Tolentino lets the player decide how much they want to lean into their racial heritage. At every tier the player can give up a Type abilities to pick up a Flavor one, making it an interesting choice. It compares favorably with how some d20 games, like 13th Age, use layers of racial feats to allow players to dive deep into their race if they want.

All these heritage flavors are good, but I really want to make a Draconic or Fiendish Cypher System character right now!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Ancestries
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

A Breath of Fresh Air
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2017 10:32:40

I discovered this adventure via a review shared in a Numenera/Cypher System community. The many positive reviews it was receiving convinced me to take a look. It proved to be a great adventure!

While I could see this adventure being adapted to a variety of settings, it's absolutely perfect for Numenera. It features wondrous technologies; strange and beautiful lifeforms; and an ethical dilemma that feels very true-to-life. Numenera is a setting that is supposed to ask tough questions, at times. This adventure does so brilliantly. The challenge arises naturally, with no railroading or arm-twisting required.

I look forward to working this into a campaign. I'm actually a bit sad that I'll never discover at the table as a player. It's a very well executed adventure that could've been pretty thrilling to experience first as a player.

I highly recommend this adventure. It's simple, thorough presentation and execution; the impressive moral quandary; and the creatively designed "alien" culture presented within all ensure that I'll take a look at this author's other work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Breath of Fresh Air
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

A Breath of Fresh Air
by Daniel Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2017 21:46:58

I've talked before about the differences between strategic and narrative role-playing games (RPGs). Some systems lend themselves more to one than the other. Sometimes it comes down to the adventure being played.

There are adventures written to be a series of combats, emphasizing the strategic aspects of the characters being played. Others, like A Breath of Fresh Air by Janek Sielicki for the Cypher System has combat, but is designed to give the players an opportunity to dig into the characters' personalities.

A Breath of Fresh Air has the party facing challenges that are more than just overcoming a number of combats to achieve their goals. Some of the ideas are familiar to what narrative players are used to, but with a nice twist.

The party is positioned to put themselves into the hands of fate. They're faced with overwhelming odds and an escape route presents itself (a standard play for one-shot convention style games). They just don't know what is in store for them by utilizing the opportunity.

This leads the party to be in an environment they cannot survive in for a long period of time. With the timer set, they have to figure out how to communicate with creatures they're not familiar with. Then, as they come to understand the position they are in, they must take actions which could have serious consequences.

Using this adventure as a one-shot or in a campaign has the potential of impacting players and characters in future play. A Breath of Fresh Air will have most players, and characters, questioning their choices as they start to learn about their predicament and the possible consequences of what they decide on doing.

For the standalone adventure, that is the part affecting the characters. In a campaign setting you now have characters who have faced a situation most people don't have to ever face. This gives the players the opportunity to role-play out the impact on their characters in future adventures. The characters will have something to look back on, see what they've done before, and use it as a significant part of their story.

For those who are familiar with ethical dilemmas, A Breath of Fresh Air establishes one nicely. It is well placed in the setting. The options are their within the framework of the game, which makes this a more acceptable location of delving into the underlying theme.

This has been a fun adventure leaving the players, and the game master, thinking afterwards.

Originally published on Guild Master Gaming on Blogspot



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 276 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG