RPGNet eShop
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
RPGnet eShop Visit the Book Shop
RPGnet columnsRPGnet ForumsRPGnet Gaming IndexRPGnet Reviews



Home » Hero Forge Games » Reviews
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Carlos T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2018 19:23:03

My 7 year old son loves this game, and I can't recommend it strongly enough. I've told friends with young kids too.

Is there a forum for exchanging user-written adventures or ideas? My son has blown through almost all the published adventures, and we'll soon need to write our own.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy Expansion - Monster Compendium
by Jeffrey R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2018 16:56:36

This has been such an amazing addition to my game night with the kids, especially in the searchable PDF form it is. I am able to bring my laptop to the table, search a monster's stats when I need it and move on. It saves time, gives me all the information I need about the monsters coming up and is great when running some self-generated content.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Expansion - Monster Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Rachel S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2018 11:14:49

I DM D&D for my family and friends, but my younger kids and their friends want to play, too, and it is just over their heads. Hero Kids is simplified enough where the kids can grasp the concept, yet versitile enough that they can bring their own flair to the premade characters, or create their own custom characters. The system is well thought out and balanced fairly. I like how the hit points are simplifed and are "knocked out" instead of killed (Though I have some kids with huge imaginations that want the deaths to be cartoon bloody. lol).

I bought the completel package with extra heros, bad guys, and adventures. They're all awesome. I absolutely love that every hero and mob comes with a paper mini, too, that can be colored in for personalization. :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Matthew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2017 15:35:37

I have played D&D since Red Book as a teenager. I was looking for a game to get my children into “D&D”. This is it. The mechanics are simple and the kids (age 7(B) and 10(G)) were able to pick them up in 5 minutes and focus on the story. I totally recommend this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Curtis B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/24/2017 13:56:08

Absolutely amazing! I figured my seven year old son and myself would have fun, however I did not expect to have as much fun as we did. He is very imaginative in general, and it applied very well to this game. The modules are very easy to use and require very little preparation, so we can play without delay. The rules are simple and fun and leave plenty of room for improvisation if desired.

I cannot recommend this enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Curtis B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/24/2017 13:55:21

Absolutely amazing! I figured my seven year old son and myself would have fun, however I did not expect to have as much fun as we did. He is very imaginative in general, and it applied very well to this game. The modules are very easy to use and require very little preparation, so we can play without delay. The rules are simple and fun and leave plenty of room for improvisation if desired.

I cannot recommend this enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

The Road to Ruin
by Thuyen N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2017 22:31:35

Bought this game as a single-player. Set up and rules are straightforward so you can get playing pretty quickly. Love how the tension increases as the game goes on. Decisions feel like they have weight behind them and I spent more and more time thinking through what could go wrong if I went here or there. Can't wait to play co-op with friends and see if we can all survive!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Road to Ruin
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
by damien a. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2017 13:33:56

Bought this for my students to play during lunch (grades 3-5) as sort of incentive for doing homework/positive behavior. I modified it slightly due to time constraints, etc...but so far they freakin' LOVE it. I have 2 kids on the autisism spectrum and a very shy child in one group and they are really into it (doing voices, giving them character traits, etc.) I intend to rotate groups of 4 kids at a time. Really well done game mechanices, etc. I never write reviews, but I felt like this realy deserves a wider audience. A really good tool in the hands of a creative GM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by John Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2017 08:19:39

Simple enough rules for a four year old, seemingly heaps of potential for adventure customisation for years to come. First encounter went really well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Shannon H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2017 13:22:23

Totally worth it. Easily expandable, easy system for kids to learn role playing. My 8 and 11 year old girls really like it. One suggestion: use lego figurines for the heroes and bad guys, they fit perfectly into the one inch grid and don't fall over all the time like the figurine tents. Or use character tokens form Pathfinder, but Legos are more fun, and then if they really dig it you can buy some Reaper miniatures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Colin R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2017 14:15:33

(Copied across from my posted review for the 'Complete Hero' bundle - if it's still on sale, well worth the price in my opinion)

I spotted that the Hero Kids Complete Fantasy Bundle was on sale for an absolutely massive reduction - $19.95 down from $63.83 - and so decided to pick the thing up. I'd played a few simple homebrew scenarios with my 5-year-old son, and had heard some neat things about this game.

I'm delighted with the results. A simple ruleset for my son, a clear guide for his first-time-GM Dad, and a rich collection of printables, inventory items and character sheets to really add to the experience. My son and I have both been having a great time with this - well worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Colin R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2017 14:13:37

I spotted that the Hero Kids Complete Fantasy Bundle was on sale for an absolutely massive reduction - $19.95 down from $63.83 - and so decided to pick the thing up. I'd played a few simple homebrew scenarios with my 5-year-old son, and had heard some neat things about this game.

I'm delighted with the results. A simple ruleset for my son, a clear guide for his first-time-GM Dad, and a rich collection of printables, inventory items and character sheets to really add to the experience. My son and I have both been having a great time with this - well worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Robynn W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2017 14:17:21

First adventure has gone really well and the whole family (with kids of 4 and 8) is revved up for more. As GM I chose to be pretty flexible on the details of turn-taking, movement etc, for the sake of smoother game-play; I don't think the system as written is clunky, I just found the more organic approach worked better for us.

My only criticism is that the introductory adventure, Basement O Rats, is a bit too repetitive. After the first encounter my 4yo was already declaring himself sick of rats. But I'm looking forward to trying out other adventures, and inventing our own. (The 8yo is highly impatient to try her hand at GMing!)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Brad C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2017 12:27:41

OK, if you have little ones and are trying to get them involved, this is worth every penny. I was lucky enough to pick it up for the $20 sale price and could not be happier with, #1 the amount of content, and #2 the scenarios are very good. Being a DM and creating stories myself we added some things to a few of the scenarios to make them more involved/ difficult but in general they are good as is. I originally picked up the first scenario by itself and scince was hooked on the system design. Again if you have first timers, this is a great way to bring them in.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Heroes Against Darkness
by Daniel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2017 16:00:58

Seems pretty solid so far. I have not yet been able to run a game with it, but I like what I have seen.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 151 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG