RPGNet eShop
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
RPGnet eShop Visit the Book Shop
RPGnet columnsRPGnet ForumsRPGnet Gaming IndexRPGnet Reviews



Home » Wizards of the Coast » Reviews
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
FA2 Nightmare Keep (2e)
by Christopher L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2018 09:17:42

Great condition! Can't wait to start this module.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FA2 Nightmare Keep (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

DDAL00-05 Winter's Splendor (5e)
by Mark D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2018 21:07:33

A lot of fun, and a really enjoyable holiday-themed Tier 1 adventure!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-05 Winter's Splendor (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Ravenloft: Realm of Terror (2e)
by Max T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2018 02:26:07

This edition of Ravenloft was very well scanned and presented in book form. This boxed set had a high degree of difficulty in translation given the amount of free standing elements that were included in its original form, but it manages to read well and work as a unified product.

Early editions of Ravenloft can be a bit dicey to talk about. For example, there’s a chapter in this book titled “Gypsies”, making it a product that was wholly of its time. But that said, this is a dense and well crafted campaign setting with strong world specific rules and practical insights into running diverse and create adventures in a setting that’s about as far away from Sword and Sorcery as you can get.

This edition does not conatin Lord Soth (The Deathknight from Dragonlance), or… I want to say, the mummy and the desert realm, but if none of that matters to you, this is an excellent reproduction that can provide a broader and more flexible approach to DnD whether you use it for 2e play, or mine it for content.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ravenloft: Realm of Terror (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

The City of Greyhawk (2e)
by Max T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2018 02:14:28

This edition of the Greyhawk boxed set translates remarkably well to book form, was very well scanned, and if you are buying this out of any motivation from nostalgia to practical and accesible use for play today, this book will serve you well.

Further, if your're DnD historically minded, or design oriented, Greyhawk provides a fantastic glimpse into the late 1st/early second edition world of DnD. A lot of campaign designs and world building can easily be gleemed from its approach to a large city and surrounding hinterlands, and just as much can be gained in understanding the focus and interest of TSRs design philosophy and content motivations in this work.

Also, and perhaps most importantly, the series of 2 page stand alone adventure cards (which read perfectly in book form) hold up as strong examples of one session adventures that shit if tone and challange across the range of early to mid character progression.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The City of Greyhawk (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Ravenloft Campaign Setting, Revised, Boxed Set (2e)
by Alan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2018 19:23:06

It's great to have a legal PDF of the text, but this doesn't feel very well done. The cards don't line up and some of the pages are a bit askew.

overall, the text is complete and it's worth the $9.99



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ravenloft Campaign Setting, Revised, Boxed Set (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

DDAL00-05 Winter's Splendor (5e)
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2018 15:48:37

A good adventure tha suffers from the new style of layout. Ran all the objectives including bonuses in 2.5 hours.

I really like the premise of this adventure and the content in general. What's stopping me from giving it five stars is the way the information has been organised within the text. I have to jump between page and page as I try to link all the details of the investigation together for the players. This leads to a lot of confusion. For example when the players get ahold of the page of the story they're going to want to immediately go to the City of the Dead without any of the things they might need to deal with the altar.

This could lead to a lot of back and forth with the players getting frustrated at the situation.

Also a general thing with these adventures - Please put the bonus content in the main text rather than the appendix, there's no need to leave it to the end of the document.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-05 Winter's Splendor (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

DDEX2-05 Flames of Kythorn (5e)
by Lewis F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2018 07:58:24

Flames of Kythorn is my go to adventure to run for new players with great stakes that allow the players to fail without it being lethal, however the high AC of mid enemies draws combat to a snails pace, and the on fire effect can easily kill a player with low hit points (knocking them out and causing automatic death saves). Otherwise, although it is quite a flawed moduel, it has a charm to it; It is always enjoyable to watch the players have a tour of Mulmaster while seeing some of the best and worst of the city as the clock runs down of an innocent Zora's life.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-05 Flames of Kythorn (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
by Emanuele P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2018 06:38:58

Unfortunately the book arrived with some damage on the hardcover. Maybe it was during the transport.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
by Corey R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2018 04:35:57

One of the first adventures ever printed for D&D and did not age well. Not much of a story and basically just an empty map to stock with creatures. Unless you want some deep nostagia or just want to complete a collection, skip it.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
B1 In Search of the Unknown (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

DDAL05-14 Reeducation (5e)
by Jeremy X. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2018 20:11:21

I rated this module more highly for the plotline than playability. It's fun to advance SEER's plotline and even bring her into opposition to characters, particularly for players / characters who have been through much of Season 5.

On the downside, as other reviewers have said, there's so little difficulty that it erodes the enjoyment. When I ran it, the party was Strong-- six PCs and APL 14-- but the only time I made them sweat even a little was using four banshees instead of two (they were still never in serious danger, and none of the banshees survived more than two rounds, but banshees are a good way to make even Tier 3 PCs without Con save proficiency feel nervous). I added an extra Dreamweaver in the first fight, too (and the party had a moment of shock when Greater Restoration didn't immediately work, though they had enough Prayer Beads, Clerics, and Druids that it was a minor setback).

For the final fight, I added a Champion and improved SEER's capabilities a bit (e.g., she had a Globe of Invulnerability). It still wasn't close. I think the boss just doesn't have the damage output to be threatening without significant allies (and for Tier 3, the Charm / Dominate options are unlikely to last very long, possibly not even long enough for the affected PC to act). If I ran it again, I might add two Champions, or maybe a Champion and an Abjurer (and seek to Walls and Banish to split up the PCs). Tactically, it was a fun reversal for the enemies to have more counterspellers than the PCs. Well, it was fun for me and I think an interesting dynamic for the players.

Timewise, it took me about 5.5 hours to run (partly because my monsters tried to play as smartly as they could and partly because there's a lot of not-that-threatening fights). I expected it to be faster because of low difficulty, but it turned out that just chugging through the enemies took some time even though the enemies were largely ineffective during it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-14 Reeducation (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

DDEX03-15 Szith Morcane Unbound (5e)
by Joseph A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2018 17:20:31

Was a pretty involved mod, so not one I would appreciate doing at a convention (or any other limited time situation). Otherwise, it was very indepth and fun to run. Almost as fun as it was to play through it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX03-15 Szith Morcane Unbound (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
by Jason B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2018 07:27:29

While I was hesitant to order a POD copy of this at first due to tales of shipping/fulfillment problems I found on youtube, most of those videos also said DM's Guild did everything they could to rectify any of those problems. Indeed, I received my Rules Cyclopedia in under three weeks and without incident. The book I received is an amazing quality hardcover at a fraction of the price of even a beat up vintage copy on eBay. Any negative criticism I might have is with the content rather than the production value. And all I have to say in those regards is that approaching the thickness and complexity of a Player's Handbook and Dungeon Master's Guide combined, I almost feel like Advanced Dungeons & Dragons is the more approachable option for new players. While this is a terrific compilation of the BECMI "Red Box" series rules sets, I also feel like it misses the point of those sets, which was to give the rules in easily digestable portions which built in complexity at a pace appropriate for individual play groups, and at a price point that was a low enough risk for those new to the game. This criticism would have been just as valid 1991 as it is today, so when it comes to DM's Guild's actual presentation of the product, I have no complaints at all. And collectors/dealers worried these reprints might tank the value of the vintage item should be glad to know that the cover art has been shrunk and the spine is actually thicker than the original due to using heavier paper, so those in the know will be able to distinguish easily from a vintage copy. It will also make it much harder for third party sellers to fraudulently (or unknowingly) pass the POD version off as a vintage copy at much higher prices.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron (5e)
by Nicholas D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2018 17:09:18

Love the book (pdf) and it is well done to bring most of what we love about Eberron to 5e such as Dragonmarked, Changellings, and all. My only coplaint is that it is light on desciptions for everything but Sharn. I'm hoping that they'll buff it up for all the rest of Khorvair.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2018 07:21:58

This was so fun to DM, may not much fun for players? but I really love this and I'm looking forward to run White plume mountain with the same players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
by Ian W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2018 23:52:39

This adventure is amazing for investigation and the kinds of questions raised. I enjoy that the ending brings such catharsis and allows the players to add details in that were not present before. It is definitely one of my favorite modules from the HOTDQ sets and I enjoy the way it brings new flesh to the city. I especially loved running my players through the chaos of the under library and the sewer that follows. Awesome work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 5284 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG