RPGNet eShop
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
RPGnet eShop Visit the Book Shop
RPGnet columnsRPGnet ForumsRPGnet Gaming IndexRPGnet Reviews



Home » Flying Buffalo » Reviews
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Vaults of K'Horror
by Thomas W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2018 20:14:10

This is a fantastic GM adventure for Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls. It is fun but challenging for the players and also fun for the GM to run. The adventure is well organized, has excellent art, and includes a solo adventure ( also set in K'Horror) for wizards. It's classic, old school, undead driven gothic horror that still feels new and fresh at the same time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vaults of K'Horror
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Vaults of K'Horror
by Mark G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2018 18:31:32

Deluxe Tunnels and Trolls does Horror

I can't say enough about this great addition to Deluxe Tunnels and Trolls. The material is great and the production quality is top notch. At the price it is a steal!

This includes a game-master led adventure and a solo adventure, couple with campaign material. This is a mid-level adventure, for levels 5-10, which makes it stand out among the many low level published adventures. The solo adventure stands out as well, being written for Wizard characters, unlike the many solos that presume a Warrior character.

The main adventure is enough for many nights of play, or the basis of a longer campaign. There are puzzles, great takes on classic horror monsters, and some new twists.

The information is well organized for the GM for play. A quick read-over is all that's necessary before bringing this to the table. It's easy to find the information wanted, and the layout is clear.

Even if you're a homebrewer, this module has lots of material that's easy to lift and shift into your own campaign.

If you do DT&T, you need this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters!Monsters!
by Charles I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2018 18:19:55

This is one of the best ALL TIME all games varients. Become the monster to defend the dungeon from evil adventuers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters!Monsters!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls
by Charles I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2018 18:18:03

I bought my first T&T set in the early 80s. I have loved T&T for years. Light, simple, easy to use, anti-rules lawyers. This is the great sucessor to version 5 which survived for years and still survives well.

the updates in the game are great. more spells. Love the skills. Yes it is big but less than 1/2 is core rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Buffalo Castle
by Charles I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2018 17:56:28

This is one of the first solos I run new charachters through. It is simple and easy to use with a cool story.

You can esily adapet this to a group just increase monsters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Buffalo Castle
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Vaults of K'Horror
by Neil H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2018 15:09:29

A superbly produced adventure for one of the best old school rpgs. This will really challenge a group of players and as a bonus, there's a solo adventure in the same setting. Essential for fans of T&T and could easily be converted to other systems with a little work



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vaults of K'Horror
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls
by Mark G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2018 05:09:38

Fast Play and Rules Light

I've been playing Tunnels and Trolls since starting with 4th edition and a solo adventure in 1979. This is my favorite and my players' favorite edition so far. It has enough ways to make characters interesting to keep them happy, while still being rules light enough that we can have many encounters in an evening without slowdowns in play.

Among the best features of Deluxe Tunnels and Trolls: Attributes are fluid. Experience earned can be immediately used to permanently raise them to reflect character ability. All attributes are used, regularly. There are no 'dump stats' in DT&T. The Saving Roll mechanic is used for practically all forms of resolution--use of skills, social interaction, etc. No more having players wonder 'which dice do I roll?' The combat system allows characters in the group to shine according to their abilities, without a lot of fussy checks. Damage sponges can soak up damage, archers and casters can do their thing. You want wizards in swords and armor? No problem! And they do so without stepping on the toes of warriors. Rogues are more Cugel, less Frodo. And they get spells right away. Dead easy to adapt to any genre. I have run high fantasy, Greek mythology, modern, and steampunk, with a sci-fi campaign in the works.

This book contains the full core rules, campaign options, and the author's original Trollworld setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

T&T Japan Adventures
by Mark G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2018 04:49:42

THIS IS THE DT&T "BASIC SET"!

If you like fast play, rules-light fantasy role playing, this is for you. It's a great introduction to Deluxe Tunnels and Trolls. This includes the 'mini rules', a complete playable subset of the DT&T rules, example characters and character sheets, a Japanese-style adventure-log comic that gives play examples, a pair of Gamemaster-led adventures and a solo play adventure. It's everything needed to get playing with DT&T.

For the price, it's an incredible value.

This has an additional 20 pages of material beyond the Free RPG Day rules with a similar cover.

If you want to expand you game with a skill system (Talents), additional creatures, races, and spells plus the original Trollworld of creator Ken St. Andre, it's a snap to transfer characters and adventures from this to the full DT&T rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
T&T Japan Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls
by Paul S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2018 19:00:00

I have been a fan of T&T from the early days. There are times I like a simpler game and T&T has been my go-to for those games.

I started playing T&T back in its early days. I recently picked up the PDFs from the T&T Bundle of Holding deal that is going on until October 15, 2018. I am impressed with the game's latest incarnation. One of my favorite things is the ability to solo play as I don't have many friends into RPGs and even less that are into T&T. I appreciate that I can generate a character very fast. In some other RPGs, it could take me literally hours to go through all the hoops to generate a character.

I don't normally roll too many triplets during character generation, but the TARO (Triples Add and Roll Over) system is unique as it allows to potentially generate an powerful character at the start. In addition to TARO, there is also DARO (Doubles Add and Roll Over) can make something that is normally impossible become possible.

If you aren't sure how you feel, you can get the Free Basic Rules and run through some Solo Adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Dicey Business!
by Catalina G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2018 14:21:06

I've just received my set of dice by postal mail. It took me a month or so, due to my geolocation, but they're great and fun! This little booklet complements all dice perfectly, and indeed offers more ideas on how to use them. It even includes a little game to play with the Pizza Dice set.

I bought the dice from Flying Buffalo's online shop (http://www.flyingbuffalo.com/dice.htm) because I had no idea there had been a kickstarter.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dicey Business!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Tunnels & Trolls Free Rulebook
by John C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2018 17:24:32

Anything Tunnels and Trolls linked is a great product ! Tunnels and Trolls was the second rpg I ever played but I fell in love with the game .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tunnels & Trolls Free Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls gamemaster Screen
by Kenneth W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2017 14:34:59

Incredibly useful information. It saves me so much time to be able to have the ranged attack save tables at hand, as well as basic equipment and treasure generator.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls gamemaster Screen
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Citybook III: Deadly Nightside
by Ben M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2017 08:01:28

I had been looking for a .pdf version of this book for years. I own a physical copy, but that was really hard to come by. I was SO very happy to get this in a Bundle!

The book presents a 18 different locations for a seedy medieval city. The concentration is on low magic, and while there is plenty of suggestions of how to put things into any given system, it is totally system-agnostic. Each location had at least two colorful NPCs that really breathe life into them.

There is an element of humor to these - one of the fighters is actually named Hakon Slash, and there is a time traveler! But there are also a number of deep meta-plots - Faustian bargains pin several together, and there are elements of touching romance in at least three locations. The grim notion of the Steel Man assassins and the nomadic Shadow Riders are so striking that I have used them in one form or another repeatedly in every medieval campaign I have run since the 90s.

Note also that there is a metaplot - maybe I should say there are several, but they interplay. If you have the patience to stat out the NPCs for your system (the generic descriptions and narrative would lend themselves SO well to FATE or FAE!) this assuredly constitutes a year-long city campaign. But if you aren't up for that, grabbing any of the locations and dropping it into your campaign will breathe a little bit of new life and interest for your players.

If I haven't communicated it enough, let me be explicit: this is my favorite roleplaying supplement of all time. Seriously.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Citybook III: Deadly Nightside
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Citybook I: Butcher, Baker, Candlestick Maker
by Dorothy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2017 12:50:33

The Citybook series was one of my favorite game aids when they were first produced, and I'm glad to see them again. My copies are sorely beat up and in some cases missing. The various settings described in the Citybooks make it easy to drop a full scenario in front of a party on those occasions that happen all too often when they go off on their own in completely the opposite direction from the dungeon you had planned. I've run The Grey Minstrel Inn, from Citybook 1, at least five times over the years, with different tweaks each time. The settings are system-neutral but easily adapted; I've used them with T&T, two versions of D&D, and a home-grown game system with ease. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Citybook I: Butcher, Baker, Candlestick Maker
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

TrollsZine
by Peter C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2017 05:27:45

An excellent source for finding information on Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls and the DT& T online community.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TrollsZine
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 112 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG