RPGNet eShop
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
RPGnet eShop Visit the Book Shop
RPGnet columnsRPGnet ForumsRPGnet Gaming IndexRPGnet Reviews



Home » White Wolf » Reviews
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
SotM's Guide to Playable Characters
by jérôme b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2018 13:55:05

A complete must have for any new players (and a lot of old ones) that want to start a Chronicles. It should be in the official V20 book. There is plenty of advice and exemple to help you with the WoD. It takes any element of the game and show you how to pley with it, twist expectations and dig a little more deeper about the character.

It show you also how to create really deep and interessting character and what are the main problem you should avoid and how to avoid them. I've seen so much Chronicles ends badly because the ST and/or the players didn't follow those advice.

And i didn't mention the arts that are mostly original works and nice!

Buy it without a doubt.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SotM's Guide to Playable Characters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

The Fallen Caern of Silver Pond
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2018 13:59:23

Can those that dance the spiral be redeemed? This Dark Ages supplement provides rules for sections of Germany in the Dark Ages as well as being an excellent resource for playing characters that might make a recently tainted Sept their home. This offers an interesting question. Can these Garou be redeemed before they fall fully to the Wyrm? Will other Garou try and save them, or kill them? The NPCs are incredibly engaging, particularly Thunderstrike, the Caern Leader. I'd really recommend this book. Layout is fantastic, art is used really well, and the story is engaging.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Fallen Caern of Silver Pond
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Forgotten Corners of the Earth: A Listing of Lost Caerns
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2018 13:52:20

Solid ideas here! Other than the caerns, which are the core focus of this product there are a few rule additions as well that are interesting and useful! The writing and layout is perfect and Rachel continues to impress with high quality work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forgotten Corners of the Earth: A Listing of Lost Caerns
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Vicissitude Expanded
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2018 12:46:41

This book is a great supplement for folks out there running chronicles where exploring different fleshcrafting is a large part of the game. Broken down alphabetically into various different modifications from claws to wings, with knowledge requirements and costs attached, it makes for easy inclusion in a game. You can read my full review on my website HERE.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vicissitude Expanded
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

To sup upon the city
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2018 12:46:29

This work focuses on a single, and vital, location in the area around Gary, Indiana. Built for the author's own chronicle this product really provides something interesting and engaging for a 1st/2nd Edition chronicle. It is that element that makes this book really worthwhile for Storyteller's looking to understand some of the feel that Vampire 5th Edition is hoping to hit. This book would be an awesome link to Rusted Veins. It focuses on humanity, pulling on the importance of feeding in a way that often gets ignored in other versions of the game.

Author has updated the work, and the minor errors in the original are gone. Worth all the stars. Pick up this book!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
To sup upon the city
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for the review. I am really glad that some of the core themes I tried to evoke were present. The issue with editing errors does concern me, as I try for the best possible quality. Over the next week, I'll revise the title and re-release.
Please find your updated file ready to download. I have addressed the stylistic and typographic errors that managed to elude me in the pre-release review.
Artifacts of Blood
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2018 10:14:26

The Good This book is a flawed masterpiece of storyhooks. The artifacts presented are really engaging and come from older versions of Vampire. The first, the Bow of the Moon and Stars is a fascinating artifact if you are willing to dig into difficult territory. The ideas here are all top-notch and they gave me a lot of thoughts on how to make a campaign focused around each artifact.

The Bad The text is a little hard to read in several sections, and the layout isn't amazing. The art is evocative and that helps, but a more professional layout would help this product a lot. The editing isnt' stellar either, there are quite a few minor editing errors that mar the book. If the author updated these things, I'd easily bump this review up to a 5 star one, because I think this book offers something interesting to the genre.

The Cool From my perspective this book is worth the price, you'll get story hooks that offer some really interesting chronicle concepts that dive into different territory than most Vampire games.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Artifacts of Blood
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks a lot for the honest review. I think I will hire a more professional layout artist next time for my books. And please contact me if you ever use any of the artifacts and how it turns out for your players.
SotM's Guide to Playable Characters
by Alexander M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2018 23:51:22

Great book, it tells of a practical approach to creating characters and playing the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SotM's Guide to Playable Characters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you Alexander! I hope you'll enjoy the updated version as well <3
9 Ghouls
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2018 17:13:32

This book does a very good job detailing nine very different ghouls that could be inserted into any game. The book was well put together, and you can't beat the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
9 Ghouls
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

New Blood
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2018 17:03:55

New Blood is a scenario for Vampire Dark Ages, that provided our play group with over four weeks of entertainment. The scenes are not scripted but they are outlined very well to many possibilities that could play out. One of the things we liked about the book best was the many npcs that were detailed and along with the various factions in which each npc belonged. The npcs could easily be used in an ongoing dark ages campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
New Blood
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Denmark by Night
by Dori E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2018 16:43:38

Demark by Night is an amazing piece of work. The book was very much like obtaining two books in one. Chapter One gives us detailed insight into both the history of and the modern politics of the country of Denmark. Chapter Two does the same thing but for the capital city of Copenhagen. Each of these two chapters could be a book on their own. The third chapter gives pages and pages of fully detail npcs to be used in any campaign set in Denmark. Although there are a few minor errors, such a the table of contents not being update, the book makes a fine addition to any storyteller's library.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Denmark by Night
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

SotM's one shots - Mens Sana
by Matias V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2018 11:28:44

Reading through this scenario will make it so that you can easily start VTM for your friends if you're just starting out. Get it, read it, love it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
SotM's one shots - Mens Sana
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Combination Discipline Compilation
by Jonathan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2018 10:23:56

Most of the Combination Disciplines use really high level of Disciplines as prerequisites (more often then not, more then one level 4+ disciplines) and/or really uncommon discipline combination.

I feel there should be a lot more of weaker combination discipline using a combination of low-level (3-) common discipline (or one discipline from the majors cam/anarch/sabbat clans, plus one or more low level of common discipline), as more vampire would have achieved the needed combination to actually experiment with it and develop the Combination Discipline.

For a combination discipline to exists, a vampire must not only have the requisite disciplines mastered, but someone with these required disciplines mastered enough had to have the interest and possibility to experiment with it until he acheived something, after a lot of trial and error... If the prerequisites includes too obscure a combination of discipline, or too high level of mastery in disciplines who are not normally found naturally in an established clan, there's really little chance that the Combination Disciplines would have been discovered in the first place...

Don't get me wrong, Combination Disciplines with uncommon/high level discipline should exists, as their creation is not entirely impossible and there's a place for them... But I feel they should represent only a small fraction of all available Combination Disciplines... That for each of those really uncommon Disciplines, there should be at least 5 disciplines that require lower level of more common disciplines.

And there's also the usefullness (from a player's perspective, since a storyteller cand bend the rules for the benefit of the story and create custom Combination Disciplines as he see fit anyway) of the content of the book to take into consideration... Sure, some Storytellers will run story were charaters are old vampire starting with a lot of experience, so they might make use of this material...

But from my own experience (it might not be representative, but i played with a lot of different groups and it was mostly the same each time), games where you start from basic character creation rules, without additionnal experience, are WAY more common, and often time by the time the campaign end, while some experience was gained and you had quite grown as a character, you probably don't have gained enough experience over the course of the whole campaign to spend on the prerequisites of most of these Combination Disciplines, plus the cost to learn the combination discipline itself, less you focus most of your gained experience into this, without really improving Attributes/Skills/Other disciplines/etc... And since learning some of these obscure prerequisite disciplines (Daimonion, Mytherceria, Temporis, Thanatosis, Obeah, Visceratika) actually require an opportunity in game that as every chance of never happening... From a player's perspective I doubt I'll really have a lot of use from the content of this book.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Combination Discipline Compilation
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Creator Reply:
Jonathan, I'll be honest I'm not sure what you're asking for, and asking the community at large their opinion on your review nor are they. I have taken the time to pull a break down of the powers in the book based on the highest dot required for the power. Here is what I found. Rank 1: 5 Rank 2: 12 Rank 3: 42 Rank 4: 35 Rank 5: 16 Rank 6: 3 Rank 7: 2 Rank 8: 1 More than 1/3rd of the book is level 3 as you were saying you wanted. I'm sorry you feel the book won't get much use from you but that would come down to the Storytellers you also are engaging with and not my writing. I'm perfectly open to suggestions but as it stands I'm not sure what it is that my book did to earn 2 stars, no one has had a major issue until now. If you can provide me with something more concrete I'd be happy to offer a solution, I've added content before for people upon request and suggestion, a large number of Discord and Facebook people have asked for things. When you think of something feel free to let me know.
SotM's one shots - Mens Sana
by Nika S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2018 17:32:51

While rather new to the World of Darkness myself, I was first drawn into the world because of the horror element and the potential to explore these scenarios. Then I was abruptly dissapointed when most of the communities I found either wanted only wanton violence or to explore their "dark artiste." Mens Sana gives a great and welcome pull back to those personal horror themes, and the book is rather well written, so that even someone as inexperianced as myself has a good handle on what's going on and what leads are being placed. Overall, I'm incredibly happy with this product and eagerly await more from the creator, should they chose to bless us!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SotM's one shots - Mens Sana
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

SotM's Guide to Playable Characters
by Lisa B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2018 03:31:15

This is a great guide to help you think about your character as not just a collection of dots and a nature/demeanor on your character sheet, but as a real person with a history, desires, goals, and flaws. It contains insight on how to create a character who is an active participant in the game you play (the only kind of playable that matters in a storytelling game!), and a fresh perspective on how to approach each of the clans and their disciplines too. I highly recommend this for new players in particular, as this guide will answer all of those questions you think are stupid (spoiler: we've all been there, they aren't!) and are too afraid to ask, and then some!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SotM's Guide to Playable Characters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks Lisa! Please give me your thoughts with the updated version as well :)
SotM's one shots - Mens Sana
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2018 16:05:46

Secrets of the Masquerade Mens Sana In Corpore Sano is an excellent throw back to the spirit of 1st edition Vampire the Masquerade. Playing through the adventure had the feel of a classic 1st edition game. The scenario provided the backdrop, for a truely terroriying story of showing the manipulations of the ancillae and how little control neonates truely have over their own exisitance.

The format of the adventure was presented in classic 1st edition style, which fit well with the theme of the book. The only thing that we would have liked to have seen was actual character statistics for the two major "villians" of the story, though we believe the author didn't provide them to allow the storyteller to customize them to his or her needs.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
SotM's one shots - Mens Sana
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNet eShop Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1888 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG